Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby Synthex » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:19 am

dmitri wrote:There is no delay. I've posted the source code for the Bootloader and you're welcome to look at it. I can put the delay at the beginning but how are you going to write the new bootloader into Atmega?

Add a delay is a good thing.
Synthex
 
Posts: 1471
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:06 am
Location: France

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby dmitri » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:19 am

Synthex wrote:
dmitri wrote:Try to pull pin 8 of Atmega to +5 over a 10k-100k resistor. Does it make a difference?

What is the period of pressure on a button to be taken into account by the Atmega (for the bootloader and the firmware) ?

It doesn't work like this. The very first change in the button position is registered and after that, to avoid false signals due to contact noise, any further changes are ignored for a short period of time.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8706
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby dmitri » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:21 am

Synthex wrote:
dmitri wrote:There is no delay. I've posted the source code for the Bootloader and you're welcome to look at it. I can put the delay at the beginning but how are you going to write the new bootloader into Atmega?

Add a delay is a good thing.

Delay is set by a proper fuse programming.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8706
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby slayer666 » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:24 am

dmitri wrote: I can put the delay at the beginning but how are you going to write the new bootloader into Atmega?


A friend of mine can do it for me.
slayer666
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby dmitri » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:45 am

1. Did putting 47k resistor fix the issue or it didn't?
2. Start up delay is controlled by fuses settings. By the time the bootloader code starts all voltages should settle down.
3. I can put a delay but not right now since I don't yet have a laptop replacement. My old one died, see "Off Topic" forum. If you're eager, you can compile the bootloader yourself, I've published the source code.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8706
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby slayer666 » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:10 pm

dmitri wrote:1. Did putting 47k resistor fix the issue or it didn't?
2. Start up delay is controlled by fuses settings. By the time the bootloader code starts all voltages should settle down.
3. I can put a delay but not right now since I don't yet have a laptop replacement. My old one died, see "Off Topic" forum. If you're eager, you can compile the bootloader yourself, I've published the source code.


1. Yes it did.
2. ok
3. God made me a retard when it comes to programming... ;)
slayer666
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby dmitri » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:29 pm

slayer666 wrote:
dmitri wrote:1. Did putting 47k resistor fix the issue or it didn't?
2. Start up delay is controlled by fuses settings. By the time the bootloader code starts all voltages should settle down.
3. I can put a delay but not right now since I don't yet have a laptop replacement. My old one died, see "Off Topic" forum. If you're eager, you can compile the bootloader yourself, I've published the source code.


1. Yes it did.
2. ok
3. God made me a retard when it comes to programming... ;)

In your case I would suggest to pull pins 6,7,8 and 9 to +5 over 47k. I'll probably add these resistors to the schematics as optional.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8706
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby slayer666 » Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:13 pm

dmitri wrote:
slayer666 wrote:
dmitri wrote:1. Did putting 47k resistor fix the issue or it didn't?
2. Start up delay is controlled by fuses settings. By the time the bootloader code starts all voltages should settle down.
3. I can put a delay but not right now since I don't yet have a laptop replacement. My old one died, see "Off Topic" forum. If you're eager, you can compile the bootloader yourself, I've published the source code.


1. Yes it did.
2. ok
3. God made me a retard when it comes to programming... ;)

In your case I would suggest to pull pins 6,7,8 and 9 to +5 over 47k. I'll probably add these resistors to the schematics as optional.


Do you mean adding them as pullup resistors?
slayer666
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby dmitri » Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:39 pm

In your case I would suggest to pull pins 6,7,8 and 9 to +5 over 47k. I'll probably add these resistors to the schematics as optional.


Do you mean adding them as pullup resistors?

Exactly
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8706
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problem with firmware getting erased by random!!!

Postby slayer666 » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:00 pm

dmitri wrote:
In your case I would suggest to pull pins 6,7,8 and 9 to +5 over 47k. I'll probably add these resistors to the schematics as optional.


Do you mean adding them as pullup resistors?

Exactly


Pullup works like a charm!!!

Thank you!!

:D

Edit: I actually had enough space to place the pullups inside the Atmega socket. Now it's not visible anymore.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
slayer666
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Sweden

PreviousNext

Return to MegaDrum Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 80 guests

cron